I Did 30 Hard, While on a Cut, and Here’s How It Went.

I am writing this from my couch with a theragun. This is an extremely important fact that will come into play later. As you all know I am a notorious gym rat with an inexplicable god complex, so 30 hard sounded fun to me. Throw in being on a cut and a mean curveball from life and you’ve got a deadlifting machine.

I made this decision back in October, and told myself to keep it low key. As an ex athlete the challenge did not seem hard, move your body for 30 days straight. I do this most of the time anyway, so it seemed no biggie.

After day 10 I quickly got bored with my own programming and started to reach out to trainer friends for input and insight. I also got really deep into my tracking of my workouts. I started to track my PRs, working weights, and where I could move things in my program. I started on the 12th of December and powered through.

I wrote a post a while back about how your emotions can influence your PRs. The best thing I can say, is that you have to “feel” your head space. I told myself- you can’t help the situation, but you can move this weight. 215 for reps easy.

Day 20 got hard. The lactic acid start to really slow me down, especially on bigger muscle days. Recovery became super intense with theragun sessions, hydromassage, bcaas, it was all necessary just to be able to do it again the next day. It takes preparing, and it takes mindset.

The GAINS. I always say to look for bigger motivation, but this was a massive one. I was so tired after workouts, I’d stopped eating out as much. This led to optimal portion control and really helped on making sure my macros were quality. This did great things for my confidence, not so great for the lululemon hemming service.

Would I do it again?

I think coming out of a bulk, 30 hard really did me justice. Granted, I had the tools and knowledge of how to push myself, so I would recommend doing deep research, and also sitting down and thinking of what this process may look like. Without measurement, goals are useless.

Comment below and let me know what you think!

Leave a comment