How I learned to be comfortable in my own skin.

Less makeup, Less product, more ME!Β Letting go of things has always been really hard for me, especially control. Having anxiety makes you acutely aware of how many things you can and can’t control, which can be maddening.

I love makeup and beauty. It’s my way of being creative and it makes me feel pretty and I enjoy it, but over time makeup becuase an all essential for me. I like that I could control how people saw me and what I wanted them to see and being without it made me feel almost naked.

I have no idea whether it was stress induced or I simply had a change of heart, but a few weeks ago I went out with friends, and all I wore was concealer and mascara. I was so worried about my blotchy cheeks, feeling dull, or worse looking dull. I realized that my friends treated me just the same. Having less mean I got a little more.

We get so caught up in the cosmetics and image of everything that we forget to live our lives, and it’s truly sad. Don’t get me wrong I love my blushes and bronzers and I’m definitely not giving them up any time soon, but I’ve realize that they’re not the whole picture. They don’t make me who I am. So whether it be spanx, lipstick, or anything else, don’t be afraid to show your true self, because you never know who might be watching.

Stay Chic.

Leave a Reply

