My Summer Reading List

I’m currently kicking myself for writing a summer reading list while I’m supposed to be studying for finals (eek!). However, I have been stewing over this post for forever and I’m finally able to sit down and write! This semester has been very hectic in terms of time and lack of inspiration this winter, so to jump right into summer posts I wanted to share my Summer Reading List with you all!

Chasing Harry Winston

I am a huge Lauren Weiseberger fan. I’ve currently read; The Devil Wears Prada (duh), Revenge Wears Prada, and Last Night at the Chateau Marmont. I have to say, although these books are super feminine fantasy, they all have deep life lessons and means, especially if you’re just starting out in the work world. Chasing Harry Winston seems like it would be a bit of a different book from the rest. From the back cover preview, it seems to be friendship based, instead of career, or love like the other ones. All of Weiseberger’s books are great quick reads, but they don’t sacrifice quality and I have to say they are delightfully sized for traveling.

The Hunchback of Notre Dame

The way I came to be interested in this particular book is quite funny. I’m a huge Disney nut and I honestly don’t know how I’m going to explain to anyone I marry why I have 100+ disney vhs tapes. Nonetheless, I actually didn’t come to want to read this from the disney movie (well, sort of). Disney recently released the studio album, and I think they are taking it to broadway (which would be awesome).Well, upon listening to the album, it’s unlike anything I’ve ever heard. You have to listen to it, as in super compellingly listen to it. However, a few times of listening through the album, I noticed very weird things about the lyrics. Of course, they kept the classics, but a few new ones had very weird themes. So, I went to digging, and turns out many of the attributes portrayed in the Disney film are very different (and more morbid honestly,) from the actual book.Turns out Disney tried to incorporate both together in inspiration for the song lyrics. Alas, my summer mission is the definitely squeeze one in for both pleasure and educational purposes. Also, definitely check out the album, it’s fantastic.

 

Remember Me to Miss Louisa

I’m super anxious to read this book because it sounds super good! I had to attend a lecture for extra credit for a class (yawn) and the speaker spoke about this book and I became intrigued! The book is supposed to be a history of antebellum interracial relationship stories with a love perspective rather than the opposite which is often seen. Overall I think it would be a good read and it’s pretty sturdy so a mighty nice ad to my ever expanding book collection.

The Last Queen of India

Michelle Moran holds my heart in some of the most beautiful literary ways possible. I honestly cannot telly you my favorite of her first three because they are all impeccable. I was super excited when I heard about this book. Moran went on a bit of a European kick for her last two books and I didn’t find them that appealing.I feel like she thrives more in deeper cultures I should say. Moran has a wonderful talent for historical fiction and the way she makes these women so relatable and different is astounding. I’m actually ordering this as we speak so that it will be hear for my Memorial Day travels (fingers crossed).

Thank You for tuning in and reading today! I hope you enjoyed my picks for my summer reading list and I hope you might pick them up as well! comment below and tell me what books peek your interest for reading lately! Also be sure to check out my other social media outlets to keep up with all things Chic, and check out my latest articles on the Trend’s Blog! Stay Chic!

Leave a Reply

