Five Books That Have Changed My Life

If you’re a reader like me, books are more than just coffee table decoration. It’s a vacation on your shelf and a paradise for your mind.In my 19 years I’ve read and reread a few books that have changed my thoughts on what it meant to be an adult as well as a person. Today I’d like to share these treasures with you in the hope that they might hold the same salubrious effect on you as they have done for me.Also-Spoiler Alert!
1.
The Devil Wears Prada:The Devil Returns 

I read the first installment of this book in high school. I’m sure you’ve heard of it,as the most that was made became a sleepover must have. I read this second book in the summer between my sophomore and junior year of college. Reading this book at a different age made me see it completely differently. When I has in high school reading the first one, the only thing I really saw when imaging it was all the pretty clothes and the lavish apartment and New York City. The second book is much more emotional and much more “adult”. You see how Lily and Andy grow apart and talk every month or so, yobooks2f-2-web.jpgu see how Alex basically disappears and all she really has anymore is herself and her career. Kinda socially morbid, but I could relate a lot. People who I saw every single day for so much of my life vanished, even my best friend lingered but soon turned into a somewhat spastic apparition of occasional texts and a phone call every few months. This sequel seems to address that weird transitional period into adult woman life which is painful. It’s painful because you’re going through so much change but in the end the book illustrates how nothing is for sure, even those things thought to be done. All in all this book taught me that life hurts you a lot, but it blesses you a lot too.

2. How to be Parisian Where Ever You Are

I happened upon this book through Pinterest and became obsessed with it. It doesn’t read in the way a traditional book does. It’s filled with how to’s and experience stories. I love how effortless it reads. The book gives you everything from a good recipe to what to

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

invest in for skincare. It’s fascinating and something I can see myself reading over and over again. As a young woman, it made me look at myself and my values in a ver different way. I realized that you don’t have to be submissive to be desirable and you don’t have to be an open book to have meaningful relationships.

3. The Hobbit

This was more of reading a childhood book in adulthood, but it wasimgres very interesting to read fantasy and it not matter that it was for education. I think one should always have their favorite childhood book that grows with you intellectually. Every time I read this book there is something different I get out of it. Though this book is extremely wordy it’s relaxing in a way I can never understand.

4.The Heretic Queen

2897258This book means so much to me. I’ve always loved the historical fiction genre, and the way Michelle Moran laces the history with the relative is beautiful. Picture reading a gossip
girl novella accompanied with  thousands of years of history. It’s a story of growth, womanhood, and how to have grace in the face of adversity.

5. Harry Potter Series

This selection is almost as cliche as it is wonderful. This series was one that grew with a generation and touched lives in so many ways. The Potter series taught me of loyalty, friendship, bravery, and courage. Things that aren’t really taught by current media. J.K. Rowling went above and beyond with this series and to this day it is something I hold deeply close to my heart. imgres-2

Thank You for tuning into NiorChic, I hope this has inpired you to read a few of these collections ! Stay Chic

As a special Valentine gift from me to you, I have a coupon for 50% off any Nume styling tool! Check out NUME and use the code: VDAY50

And if you hair is on point, but your outfit needs a little more oomph, check out  Lulu’s for 30% off this littlefor blog Number

 

Leave a Reply

